spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer

Connect With Us

Press Room

Call for Nominations Ramstad-Kennedy Award


Call for Nominations Ramstad-Kennedy Award
February 5, 2013

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: The 2013 Ramstad-Kennedy Annual Award for Outstanding Leadership by a Single State Authority, awarded by the Recovery Month Planning Partners, is looking for nominees for this year’s award. 

Background: The Recovery Month Planning Partners have witnessed with appreciation as the Single State Agencies (SSA) have increased their critical role in supporting and promoting Recovery Month activities, materials and awareness in their states and within their agencies. The Planning Partners have also watched with appreciation the extraordinary and long-time efforts and passionate leadership of the Honorable Jim Ramstad (R-MN-ret) and the Honorable Patrick Kennedy (D-RI-ret) in the development, understanding and promotion of public policies to bring equity to care for people with addiction and mental illness.

In 2007 representatives of the Recovery Month Planning Partners met with the National Association of State Alcohol/Drug Abuse Directors (NASADAD) Board of Directors to thank them for their leadership within their home states. Additionally, the group discussed the need for greater collaboration to promote Recovery Month within states and in coordination with national activities. The Ramstad-Kennedy award was established to recognize a SSA Director who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in support of recovery and Recovery Month and to acknowledge Congressmen Ramstad and Kennedy for their commitment to recovery and recovery-oriented policies.

The first annual Ramstad-Kennedy Award was presented in 2008 to the Massachusetts SSA, Michael Botticelli, during a Recovery Month reception at the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) State Systems Development Program (SSDP) conference. In 2009, the award was presented to Karen Carpenter-Palumbo of New York; in 2010 to Carol Falkowski of Minnesota; in 2011 to Barbara Cimaglio, Vermont Deputy Commissioner for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs. Last year’s recipient was Rhode Island’s Craig Stenning.

2013 Award: The 2013 Ramstad-Kennedy Award will be presented during the national conference of the National Association of State Alcohol and Drug Abuse Directors (NASADAD) in Bethesda MD June 18-19, 2013. 
Nominations are due June 3, 2013 and must be submitted with the Ramstad Kennedy Award application.

Keywords: nominations, ramstad, kennedy, award, 2013

External link. Please review our Disclaimer